Thursday, 19 June 2014

Happy Publication Day to Carmel Harrington! Review and INT Giveaway of "The Life You Left".

THE LIFE YOU LEFT 
Carmel Harrington 
3rd July 2014 | PB £8.99 | EB £1.99 


“Sarah, I’m not coming home tonight.
If you love me, you will give me the space I need…
Tell the children I love them.
- Paul”

A story of redemption and the strength of love from the author of BEYOND GRACE’S RAINBOW,
perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern.

It started out like any other day for Sarah Lawler; getting the kids ready for school, making the packed lunches
and juggling baby Ella’s feeds. There was no way of knowing that her husband, Paul, would leave for work
that morning and simply not come home.

Now the questions are piling up quicker than the unpaid bills and, unable to answer her children’s questions
about where their Daddy is, Sarah is getting desperate. But it turns out she isn’t quite as alone as she thought
she was. When her beloved childhood friend, Edward, comes back into her life, Sarah thinks she’s finally been
thrown a life line.

There’s just one problem with Edward: no one else can see him.

Edward is an angel. And he has a message for Sarah that will change her life and the lives of others forever.
For it is only in the most difficult of times that Sarah can discover how strong she truly is.

PRAISE FOR BEYOND GRACE’S RAINBOW:

‘It will pull you in, make you laugh and break your heart’ – USA Today Bestselling Author Abby Green

‘A bittersweet, quietly brilliant novel that will make you cry, laugh and cry all over again’ – Female First

‘Funny, poignant and bursting with heartfelt humour’ – I Heart… Chick Lit

‘You will laugh, you will cry, you might even get angry. One thing is for sure – this, thanks to
the warmth of writing and the level of feeling Harrington obviously has for her characters,
is a story you will never forget’ – After The Final Chapters

‘I can hand on my heart honestly say that this book has blown me away. Treat yourself to it. It's not just for us chick-lit
ladies. It's for everyone who enjoys a good read and a brilliant book. It's sensational’ – Pajama Book Girl

ABOUT CARMEL HARRINGTON: 

Carmel Harrington is the author of BEYOND GRACE’S RAINBOW, which was awarded Kindle Book of the Year 
2013 by the Peoples Book Awards, Best Romantic Read eBook 2013 at the UK’s Festival of Romance, and was 
an iTunes number one bestseller. She has appeared across national television and radio in her native Ireland, 
talking about the success of her first book. 

Carmel is published by HarperImpulse, an award-winning digital romance imprint of HarperFiction. She lives 
in Ireland with her husband Roger and her two young children, Nate and Amelia. With publication of BEYOND 
GRACE’S RAINBOW, Carmel fulfilled a lifelong ambition to become a published author. She is also a 
playwright. She is available to interview and to write features. 


carmelharrington.com

********************************************************

My Review
Sarah Lawlor receives an e-mail that may change her life.  Her husband has decided he needs space and has left no details as to his whereabouts or his intentions.  Left to manage on her own with three young children, she contacts her twin brother, James, with the news that not only is her husband gone AWOL, but that a visitor from her past has turned up unexpectedly.  When James hears the name Edward, he rushes to his sister's aide as the memories of Edward's previous visits are not all good.

Edward is a guardian angel and only Sarah can see him.  He caused some trauma for Sarah during her childhood and she is very shaken up by his return.  It seems he is there with some messages for her and her dreams begin to fill with images connected to the murder of a local primary school teacher.  What is she meant to do with all this information? How can she help? Where is her husband?  The story guides us through the surreal world that Sarah is living and makes us question if we all have someone watching over us.......

Having read Carmel Harrington's debut novel, "Beyond Grace's Rainbow", I was lucky enough to host an author evening with her, here at Bleach House.  We got on like a house on fire and have remained friends since.  I have been dying to get my hands on a copy of this new novel and the day arrived last week.  I was a bit nervous to start with as often a second novel can disappoint and I really didn't want this to be the case.  I need not have worried.  Carmel has once again used her talent as a women's fiction writer, with a heart, and created another wonderful set of characters in this unusual tale.  Sarah has had a lot of s**t thrown at her, over a short period of time, and she manages to hold things together while still being there for her children.  Her husband, Paul, is a man I cannot identify with.  I'm sure there are many couples out there who are struggling but for a man to just head off, with no warning, leaving his three kids with not even a goodbye, is just the lowest of the low.  However, Sarah's twin brother, James is her rock.  He is there for her from the start and understands her more than anyone, having witnessed the fallout from Edward's visits years earlier.  He is funny, charming and great with the kids.  Everyone should have a James!  Edward does not play as big a role as I had anticipated and it is more Sarah's dreams that lead the story.  A host of cute characters included along the way are endearing and compliment Sarah's overall good nature.  Carmel's love and understanding of young children is evident as she creates very sweet sections devoted to Sarah's children, just as she did in her previous novel.  
The Life You Left is a warm, uplifting novel about change, trust and instinct.  A cross between Celia Ahern and an episode of Medium, it will have you looking over your shoulder to see if there's someone watching your back..........

A perfect summer read, grab the sun hat, a glass of wine, get out into the garden and enjoy!


As today is publication day for the ebook edition of "The Life You Left", I have a copy of this to give away to one lucky reader! Just enter via rafflecopter below for your chance to win......


a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 comments:

  1. I would chose Paul Walker, RIP.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Leaving your wife with 3 kids is a really selfish thing to do, but it's a good thing that Sarah has her brother to help her out! I don't know really want a guardian angel :)))

    ReplyDelete
  3. I would want a member of my family not a stranger.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I would choose a famous author, but I would have to research them first as it has to be someone nice. I really want to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I wouldn't choose anyone famous, would want a member of my family... Is that allowed?!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I would choose, slightly cheating here but they are not famous and they are not a member of my family but can I choose my lovely Labrador Milo who died 18minths ago.....he always looked out for me, when I dealt with an awful episode in my life. Thank you for the chance of the give-away. X��

    ReplyDelete

Popular Posts