Tuesday, 2 June 2015

"The Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire" by Iain Reading. Review from Mia, aged 11.

Review from Mia Madden, aged 11.

This is the first book in the Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire series, featuring teenage girl, Memphis Grey and her guild buddies, Winston, Samantha, Ithaca and Christian.  Although this list won't last for long because after a terrible accident there is no more Christian.  With him gone, Memphis and her friends have to find a new member to restore the balance and save their Waterfire guild.  Memphis and Samantha think they have found the perfect candidate when new student, Flynn Gallagher, arrives.  This discovery takes the guild on exciting adventures around the world, in Greece and England, and an epic battle between the Waterfire guilds and the Earth Air wizards.  All this is just a tiny piece of information, so to find it all out, read this outstanding book!

I think this is one of Iain Reading's best works and would make a brilliant school novel.  It's the second most intriguing book I have ever read, because the first is Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces, which is busting with mystery. The Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire is a real page-turner and I didn't stop reading it untgilo the last minute before bedtime.  It concludes with a thrilling cliff-hanger and I'm furious because I have to wait for the second book in the series...

A five star book, recommended for ages 10+

The Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire is available in paperback and ebook format.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts