Sunday, 20 September 2015

'The Book of Learning' by ER Murray. Review from Mia, aged 12.

We received a copy of this title, from the publisher, in return for an honest review...   


This is the first book in the Nine Lives Trilogy.  It's about 12-year-old Ebony Smart, who lives with her Grandpa Tobias and pet rat, Winston.  When Tobias dies, Ebony has to go to Dublin to live with a newly discovered aunt.  Reluctantly she goes, leaving her childhood behind.

When she arrives at her new home, she learns that she is one a few people who can reincarnate. During a tour of the house with her Aunt Ruby, Ebony finds a mysterious book that has her name on it.  Later that night she steals the book and reads about the reincarnating race and a guardian who can access the place where all the souls are kept.  Also a dangerous man called Icarus Bean is out three somewhere, looking for Ebony.  With the help of Aunt Ruby, Winston, two pre-historic wildcats, a new mind-reading friend called Zach and her past-selves, can Ebony find the guardian and Icarus Bean?

I loved this book so much that I made Lego figures of Zach and Ebony, and I don't usually mix up my Lego figures!  My mind was racing when I was reading this book, trying to piece together the clues, but I had to read to figure it out.
I can't wait for the next installment in the series.  I think this is another book to put on my favourites list...

I recommend this book for ages 10+.

The Book of Learning is published by Mercier Press and is available in paperback and ebook format.  You can order your copy, with Free Worldwide Postagehere while the ebook can be ordered via amazon link below:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts