Wednesday, 20 January 2016

Book Review - "Return to Tyringham Park" by Rosemary McLoughlin.



I received a copy of this title, from the publishers, in return for an honest review...

A lavish Irish country estate, Tyringham Park is once again full of secrets, lies and tragedy.  When Lochlann returns from his post as a doctor in the Australian Outback, he brings home his wife and daughter.  Unbeknownst to anyone, his daughter is actually not his.  He carries the guilt of his dishonesty daily and finds himself hiding from the people he should love the most.  The young girl grows up in the care of her Grandmother, and oblivious to her true identity, she divides her time between Dublin and Tyringham Park.  
Back at the family seat, there are more secrets to be hidden and the past may catch up with the Blackhurst family yet...

Tyringham Park was one of my guilty pleasure reads (you can read my review here) and I was delighted to hear there was a sequel from Rosemary McLoughlin.  Now that Downton Abbey has finished its TV run, there is some Big House space to be filled.  
The book jumps straight into the continuing story of a missing Nanny, a mysterious drowning and the efforts required to hide some serious secrets.  I found myself getting a little lost, as it is a while since I read the first installment, and I'm not sure if a reader would connect too easily if they hadn't read Tyringham Park.  However, once the back story settles down, the sweeping saga gets right under your skin.  The chapters set in Australia are especially gripping, with the Hogan family coming to life straight away.  Their struggle with their mother's post natal depression is wonderfully written and the descriptions of her husband out walking the outback, searching for her, are very poignant.  Sisterly rivalry is also cleverly addressed and the progression of bitterness gains momentum as the novel progresses.  The story shifts back to Ireland and while the pace has settled, the story has taken over.  Lochlann's guilt has eased and he seems to be finally able to let go of the past.  But for how long? 

The Tyringham Park novels are ideal for fans of Downton Abbey, with all the crazy storylines, historical references and fabulous fashion.  I would recommend reading the first book, before starting Return to Tyringham Park, as there are too many references in the sequel to appreciate it as a stand-alone novel.  Perfect for those missing their weekly fix of historical drama.


Return to Tyringham Park is published by Poolbeg and is available in  trade paperback and ebook format.  You can order your copy, with 15% discount and Free Worldwide Postage, here.  The ebook can be ordered via amazon link below:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts