Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Blog Tour - Miranda Dickinson 'Searching For A Silver Lining' with exclusive author content.


I am a massive fan of Miranda Dickinson and was delighted to be asked to participate on the blog tour for her latest novel, Searching For A Silver Lining.  I was lucky enough to catch up with Miranda at this years Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival and managed to hear all about the story behind this novel.  I am thrilled to share a piece from the author about two of the characters featured in Searching For A Silver Lining.  I hope you learn to love Miranda's novels as much as I do. Check out all the other stops on the blog tour for more exclusive content...

THE BLURB

It began with a promise . . . 

Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .  When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong. Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.


Exclusive Author Content

Meet The Cast: Gil Kendrick

Gil Kendrick is a bit of an enigma when we meet him. The co-owner of Kendrick’s Comedy Club (with his twin brother, Colm), he is the grandson of the club’s original owner Jacob Kendrick, who established it as The Palm Grove – Soho’s finest music venue and nightclub in the 1950s. Mattie Bell and Reenie Silver have to persuade him to host the reunion of the famous Fifties’ British singing group, The Silver Five. He agrees, on one condition: that he joins the road trip to meet the group’s former members.

When I wrote the first draft of Searching for a Silver Lining, Gil took a while to find his feet in the story. I could picture him immediately, but I had to work to bring out his own story within the main story of the book. You could say he was a bit shy of the spotlight for a while! But having spent a year of my life getting to know Gil, I love what he became on the page. He’s funny, charming, occasionally grumpy and a surprisingly layered character who reveals a whole other side as the road trip goes on. I hope readers will love him, too!

If Searching for a Silver Lining is ever made into a film (*coughs, bats eyelids at passing film directors*), my dream casting for the role of Gil would be the gorgeous Sam Claflin. He would portray Gil’s dry sense of humour while also showing his flaws and hidden motivations. It took me a long time of looking at many, many photos of Sam to decide this, of course. A writer’s life can be so hard sometimes…

Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy reading the story!




About the author



Miranda Dickinson has always had a head full of stories. From an early age she dreamed of writing a book that would make the heady heights of Kingswinford Library and today she is a bestselling author. She began to write in earnest when a friend gave her The World's Slowest PC, and has subsequently written the bestselling novelsFairytale of New YorkWelcome to My WorldIt Started With a KissWhen I Fall in LoveTake A Look At Me Now,I'll Take New York and A Parcel for Anna Browne. Miranda lives with her husband Bob and daughter Flo in Dudley.


Searching For A Silver Lining is published by Pan and is available in paperback and ebook version. You can order your copy via amazon link below:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts