Wednesday, 12 October 2016

Book Review - "Falling" by Julie Cohen.



Three generations of women.  Three secrets kept.  Each secret has different meaning but all have knock-on effect.

Honor has a nasty fall in her own home and finally realizes that she cannot manage her elderly-self without help. Jo takes control and moves her mother-in-law into the home she shares with her three children and memories of her dead husband.  Lydia resents her Grandmother taking her room and she silently battles her own demons.  Three women, under one roof yet hiding from each other...

We are all good at hiding the truth.  Little white lies can hide a multitude of  secrets and sometimes the truth can hurt more than deceit.   But inevitably things unravel and escalate, often with unexpected repercussions.  While Honor has managed to hide her secret for decades, it surfaces through the unlikely source of a letter discovered by her granddaughter.  Maybe it's time to come clean.  Jo tries to forget the accident that killed her young husband, while also protecting his perfect personae.  Lydia struggles to contain her feelings for her best friend and yet wonders could they be reciprocated.  A new arrival in her class sets off a chain of events that no one could have anticipated.  

Julie Cohen introduces us to one family with fractured links.  Each character has equal status and each narrative is equally compelling.  How many of us would love to offload our secrets to a grandmother rather than a mother?  Stepping away by one generation can ease the weight of the secret.  Honor is a proud and spirited woman who hops off the page.  Jo is not as strong, but her life has not been easy.  Lydia is a teen who needs her mother more than she knows.  It could be any family, in any street, in any modern city.  The writing is gentle yet effective, warm and inspiring and extremely memorable.  This is a novel that I read in two days, connecting with the story more than I anticipated.  Cohen is a talented writer of female fiction and one that I would definitely recommend.  Ideal for fans of Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain. 

Falling is published by Black Swan and is available in paperback and ebook format.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts